A pay raise for state employees approved by the 2007 Texas Legislature goes into effect on Sept. 1 and will appear in the Oct. 1 paycheck for monthly employees and Sept. 15 for semimonthly employees.
Most employees will receive a pay raise of 2 percent in their base pay or a minimum of $50 a month. Part-time employees will receive an increase proportionate to that of a full-time worker based on the number of hours they work.
The Sept. 15 and Oct. 1 paychecks also will reflect any changes in benefits made by employees during Summer Enrollment or by ERS. The ERS changes include:
- An increase in health insurance premiums for HMOs (but not HealthSelect). See health premium rates for full-time and part-time employees on ERS’ Health Premium Rates for Plan Year 2009 web page.
- A 5 percent increase to the plan year 2009 rates for the State of Texas Dental Choice Plan, the self-funded dental indemnity plan.
In addition, employees who have optional benefits such as optional life insurance and short-term and long-term disability insurance may see slightly higher premiums in their Oct. 1 paychecks because these benefits are based on the employee’s salary.