Texas Medicaid and CHIP

Community First Choice

Senate Bill 7 from the 2013 Texas Legislature requires the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to put in place a cost-effective option for attendant and habilitation services for people with disabilities who have STAR+PLUS Medicaid coverage.

A federal option, called Community First Choice, allows states to provide home and community-based attendant services and supports to Medicaid recipients with disabilities. This option provides states with a 6 percent increase in federal matching funds for Medicaid for these services.

Who can get Community First Choice services?

To be eligible for Community First Choice services an individual must:

  • Be eligible for Medicaid.
  • Need help with activities of daily living, such as dressing, bathing and eating.
  • Need an institutional level of care.

Community First Choice Services

Community First Choice Services include:

  • Help with activities of daily living and health-related tasks through hands-on assistance, supervision or cueing.
  • Services to help the individual learn how to care for themselves.
  • Backup systems or ways to ensure continuity of services and supports.
  • Training on how to select, manage and dismiss attendants.

Texas began the Community First Choice program on June 1, 2015. This means:

  • Individuals on a 1915(c) waiver interest list who meet eligibility and coverage requirements may be eligible to get Community First Choice services.
  • Individuals already getting services through a 1915(c) waiver will continue to get those services as they do today from their existing providers.

For more information on selecting a provider for Community First Choice services, please click here.

Provider Resources

Provider Training

Training Archive: Community First Choice, January 2015 (offsite link)

Sign Up for E-mail Updates

Office Closure logo

$50 or less every 6 months insures all your children.

Healthfinder Image