Sign Up for E-mail Updates

Office Closure logo

$50 or less every 6 months insures all your children. logo

Healthfinder Image

Senior Guide Banner

Free Marriage Workshops

Don't be in the dark about child care logo












Center for Elimination of Disproportionality and Disparities

Interagency Council for Addressing Disproportionality

Senate Bill 501 from the 2011 Texas Legislature established the Interagency Council for Addressing Disproportionality. The council examines best practices and training, reviews the availability of funding, and makes recommendations to the legislature to address disproportionality.

Interagency Council for Addressing Disproportionality: Report to the 83rd Legislature

State agency representatives

  • Joyce James, Associate Deputy Executive Commissioner, Health and Human Services Commission Center for Elimination of Disproportionality and Disparities — Presiding Officer
  • Tina Amberboy, Executive Director, Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission for Children, Youth and Families
  • Mark Chassay, Deputy Executive Commissioner, Health and Human Services Commission
  • Tamela Griffin, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
  • Hailey Kemp, Government Relations Specialist, Texas Education Agency
  • Sharon Pruitt, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General
  • Carl Reynolds, Director, Office of Court Administration of the Texas Judicial System
  • Jennifer Sims, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Family and Protective Services
  • Luanne Southern, Deputy Commissioner, Department of State Health Services
  • Cherie Townsend, Executive Director, Texas Juvenile Justice Department
  • Jon Weizenbaum, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Aging and Disability Services
  • Lance White, Quality Assurance Special-Juvenile Team, Governor's Office Criminal Justice Division

Other representatives

  • Vanessa Dews, former foster youth
  • Reverend Ray Hendricks of Austin, faith-based community organization
  • Reverend Kyev Tatum of Fort Worth, community-based organization
  • Dr. Ben Raimer of Galveston, medical community
  • Dr. Janna Lesser of San Antonio, medical community