Sign Up for E-mail Updates

Office Closure logo

Frew Advisory Committee

Frew Strategic Medical and Dental Initiatives
Advisory Committee

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission developed the Frew Advisory Committee to engage stakeholders in the process of determining initiatives to be financed using $150 million appropriated by the 80th Texas Legislature for Frew strategic medical and dental initiatives.  As the Commission has allocated funding, the committee’s role changed in August 2009 to advise HHSC on evaluating initiatives and provides recommendations on whether funding for initiatives should continue.

The members will serve until HHSC has completed approved initiatives or as requested by the HHSC Executive Commissioner.  Members of the Frew Advisory Committee are:

Dr. Jane Rider, a pediatrician from San Angelo, will chair the Frew Advisory Committee. Dr. Rider is a past president of the Texas Pediatric Society, the current chair of the society's Subcommittee on Medicaid, and the vice chair of the Texas Medical Association's Select Committee on Medicaid.

Dr. Jose Luis Cazares, Jr., a McAllen dentist, is a vice president of the Texas Dental Association and the 2005 recipient of the Texas Academy of General Dentistry President's Leadership Award.

Rudy Davila of San Antonio is vice president of Davila Pharmacy and a member of the Texas Pharmacy Association.

Anne Dunkelberg of Austin is associate director of the Center for Public Policy Priorities. She has served on the Governor's Medicaid Reform Workgroup and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Covering Kids and Families Project.

Dr. Benigno Fernandez of San Antonio is a clinical assistant professor for the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He is president of the Texas Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and is chairman on the San Antonio Medical Directors' Roundtable for Children. Dr. Fernandez also is a member of the San Antonio Blue Ribbon Task Force to Prevent Child Abuse and Neglect.

Dr. Catherine Flaitz is dean of the University of Texas Dental Branch at Houston. She was named the 2005 Texas Dentist of the Year by the Texas Academy of General Dentistry and was named one of America's Top Dentists in 2005 by the Consumer's Research Council of America.

Dr. Glenn Flores of Southlake is director of general pediatrics at UT Southwestern and Children's Medical Center in Dallas. In 2006, he was honored with an Outstanding Achievement Award by the American Academy of Pediatrics and a Health Leadership Award from the National Hispanic Medical Association.

Spencer Harris joined Texas Public Policy Foundation in 2010 as a Health Care Policy Analyst. His research focuses on identifying patient-centered, free market solutions for our state’s health care challenges. Spencer previously worked in the House of Representatives for Rep. Warren Chisum where he covered health care issues, immigration issues, and the Licensing and Administrative Committee.

Dr. John Hellerstedt of Austin is medical director for the Dell Children's Hospital and previously served as the medical director for Texas Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). He was recently honored with a Child Advocacy Award by the Texas Pediatric Society.

Brent Magers of Lubbock is associate dean of the Texas Tech University Health Science Center's School of Medicine. For more than a decade, Magers was president of Harris Methodist Walls Regional Hospital, which earned the Texas Health Care Quality Improvement Award from the Texas Medical Foundation.

Dr. Thomas C. Mayes of Shavano Park is chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He has been honored among the Texas Super Doctors for the past five years.

Dr. Charles Phillips of College Station is a professor in the School of Rural Public Health at the Texas A&M Health Science Center. He specializes in long-term care policy and health services research, and his current projects include developing a comprehensive assessment for use with children who receive nursing or personal care services through Medicaid.

Dr. Alan L. Podawiltz of Fort Worth is the acting Dean, TCOM and Chair of Psychiatry and behavioral health at The University of North Texas Health Science Center.  He is also a member of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.

Jan B. Scott of Houston is Vice President of Operations for Texas Children’s Health Plan in the Harris County service area.  Jan has been involved in the Medicaid managed care arena since 1990 when she worked with the initial Texas managed care pilot in Austin and is a member of the Texas Association of Health Plans. 

Dr. Kenneth Shine of Austin is executive vice chancellor for health affairs for the University of Texas System. He serves as a senior advisor to Task Force for Access to Health Care in Texas, which produced the Code Red report on access to health care and health insurance in Texas.

Dr. William Steinhauer of San Antonio is a pediatric dentist who has served patients with Medicaid coverage for 21 years. He is chair of the Dental Division at Christus Santa Rosa Children's Hospital and a former president of the Texas Academy of Pediatric Dentistry.

Dr. David S. Wilbanks of El Paso is an orthodontist with more than 30 years of experience. He is a former member of the Texas Dental Association Board of Directors and a recipient of the association's Distinguished Service Award. 

 Some reports can only be viewed/printed with Adobe® Acrobat® Reader version 4.0 or later. provides a free plug-in that may allow visually impaired users to read documents in Adobe PDF format.